There is nothing like a Dane!

Mail to a friend.

Dearest Viking,

Let me be the first to express how delighted I am that your fine country of birth has regained its rightful place at the top of the list of happy countries!

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/17/world/europe/denmark-world-happiness-report.html

I also notice that Iceland, Norway and Finland are in 2nd, 3rd and 4th places and yet Sweden is only 9th, which must be pissing them off a little. Is there something about snow, trees, herrings, expensive alcohol, undercooked meat, limited daylight, weird music and depressing TV crime dramas that makes people happy?

Let me say, furthermore, that I was about to wonder how one squared the happiness with the high suicide rates but having done some research (just for you) I see I was being lied to about suicide rates in Scandinavia being very high. It is not so. According to Wiki; Russians, Hungarians, Belarusians, Ukrainians, Poles and Latvians all kill themselves more rapidly than the worst of Scandinavian nations, that being Finland in 33rd place. Iceland is close in 35th place and then Sweden in 58th and finally Denmark and Norway in a suicide pact at 81st and 82nd places.

By the way, mentioning Wiki brings on pangs of guilt. Dalling Jimmy W mailed me recently asking for me to renew my 50 zloty donation and I didn’t do it. To be more precise, I tried to give them even more than 50 zloty but it got very complicated with passwords, or card numbers or something technical and I was forced to abandon my attempt. Sorry, Jimmy! I will get back to it when I have time.

One thing that is clear, dearest Viking, is that Burundi is badly in need of cheering up as it comes bottom of the happiness table and is also ranked 10th for suicides. As Stevie Wonder said “It’s that Burundi’s in need of love today, Don’t delay, Send yours in right away, Hate’s goin’ round, Breaking many hearts, Stop it please, Before it’s gone too far.”. I think that says it all.

Hoping this might reach you with sufficient force to deserve a response,

Lord Snoot

Leave a Reply

