The formal You

Snippets from an email:

I hope that You are doing well too.

Thank You for coming back to me…..I very much appreciate that You managed to allocate……await further news from You during first half of November.

I love the Polish tendency to capitalize the word “You”. Kind of a struggle for them because protocol means they cannot drop into the familiar ty, English equivalent you, but also are unable to use Mr / Mrs, the Polish version Pan / Pani because that’s looks even sillier. They therefore end up using the informal word you but capitalizing like Mr Mrs.

3 thoughts on “The formal You

  1. I found a great translator app on my ipod and then recently it quit. I found another but many times it does not translate correctly. (but as bad as I write my cousin always seems to understand what I said)

Leave a Reply

