Hand dryers

I far prefer drying my hands with paper towels, I imagine everyone does? It’s the quickest, easiest and most natural way but for those charged with operating the toilets the dreaded electric dryers are usually selected. I suppose it is a question of cost and cleanliness, probably theft too as employees might be tempted to take pack of towels home but not an electronic dryer.

The electronic things come in a variety of models ranging from the utterly useless to just about acceptable. The best I’ve had the pleasure of working with to date is the old World Dryer “Model A”. It comes in various disguises but combines some essential ingredients in the hand drying arena – powerful motor, hot air, well designed nozzle.

It is sad to say that after what must be at least 20 years in existence the hand dryer had not moved on but had gone backwards if anything. Well, imagine my surprise then when I found the Dyson Airblade in the public loos at Brussels airport the other day! A strange looking thing but it works and it works well. You can read all about it via the link. I wouldn’t say it is quite as efficient as they claim but it is certainly the best hand dryer I’ve used for a very long time.

So there you have it, rush off to Brussels airport the first chance you get and try out the future of electronic hand dryers. Gosh this is exciting!

Where’s my anorak?

2 thoughts on “Hand dryers

  1. I feel compelled to leave a hand dryer comment. What that says about me i’m not sure! The National Trust, of all people, has adopted these super sonic (by comparison) dryers that scared the children in Calke Abbey, Derbyshire on a recent visit.

  2. ooohhh… this is a Japanese style hand dryer. And I bet it also has some sort of purple UV light (or whatever it is) for germ killing when you stick your hands in. :)

Leave a Reply

