Golf in Poland…….at last!

It is a little known fact that I very much enjoy a round of golf. Little known because I’ve not had a chance to play since I’ve had this blog up and running, in fact, the last round I played was probably back in 1998!!!

I’d enjoyed playing fairly regularly in the UK thanks to an abundance of courses and plenty of people to play with. After years of being a nomadic golfer, I finally got round to joining a club in 1998 and became a member of Leatherhead Golf Club. I probably managed to get no more than 10 rounds in before I was exiled to Warsaw. Since arriving in Poland my golfing career withered and died, golf is not in the least bit popular here and the few places you can get a game tend to treat it like an elitist sport, an attitude I don’t like or agree with. The nearest course to Warsaw is in Jabłonna, the First Warsaw Golf and Country Club. Whenever I’ve visited it has not felt like a very welcoming club and by all accounts the layout of the course with its numerous water hazards is designed to raise ball sales in the pro shop rather than encourage you to play more often. By all accounts the green keeping there also leaves a lot to be desired.

I was delighted therefore to hear about another course, Lisia Polana, which lies about a 40 minute drive north of Warsaw and it was to there that I sneaked off one afternoon recently to play my first full round of golf for ten years. It is a full 18 hole course, 5541 m long off the yellow tees and par 72. It is reasonably well kept and has its challenges without being particularly demanding. It cost us 280 PLN for two people playing 18 holes and a golf cart (need to build up to this carrying a heavy bag for 10km you know!). I played with George, who can be seen here deftly chipping his approach shot onto the rocks and into the water!

It was great fun and I managed to go round in 95 shots, within my private challenge of doing it in less than 100. It was a round that would have provided a very respectable score of 28 (assuming my old handicap of 12) on the widely used Stableford system and one that included five pars! I’m very pleased with that. George was less pleased with his score of 120 and 17 points off a handicap of 24, but he was improving all the time.

It was strange dusting off all the equipment. The clubs still had 10 year old Leatherhead grass on them, the wet weather clothing still had 10 year old Leatherhead mud on them, as did the shoes. I found my Dubai Dessert Classic ball marker and bought some shiny new Titleist golf balls only one of which went AWOL during the afternoon. We finished the day off with a pint of orange juice and lemonade and then headed back to Warsaw.

Wentworth it certainly was not, not even close to Leatherhead standards but beggars can’t be choosers and all in all it was a very enjoyable afternoon and I can’t wait for the next one.

14 thoughts on “Golf in Poland…….at last!

  1. It would be nice to see golf become more popular in Poland. I used to play quite often at University, but haven’t played since the kids were born.

    Would be great to get back into it, but may need a few trips to the driving range first. Good luck and keep it up!

  2. I have no clubs (or handicap) but assume it’s possible to hire them. Fancy another game in the not too distant future?

  3. Can you play golf, or is it more like industrial landscaping?

    :)

    On the club hire question, try calling the club, the number’s in the link in the post.

  4. Why did the golfer wear two pairs of trousers?

    In case he got a hole in one!

    Aha ha ha ha ha …

    I’m a complete sucker for puns.

  5. Golfing is a lot of fun. We had a ladies golf team at work. (It was only a Par 5 course) Glad you are able to continue the golfing again in Poland Scatts. Your Leatherhead reminds me a lot of one of the courses close by to me here. (We are fortuante to have several…Even had Prince Andrew fly over here for one of the tournaments at Oakhill on a Concord) =^..^=

  6. Hi … I stumbled on your site by mistake. I was looking in Yahoo for Georgia vacations for my trip when I found your site, I must say your page is pretty cool I just love the theme, its amazing!. I don’t have the time today to totally read your entire site but I have bookmarked it and also signed up for your RSS feeds. I will be back in a day or two. thanks for a awesome site.

Leave a Reply

