Those resolution things….

A year ago I set out nine resolutions for 2008. The progress report makes for dismal reading.

  1. Stop smoking – HAVE COMPLETELY STOPPED SMOKING INDOORS BUT I STILL SMOKE. NOT TOTAL FAILURE BUT NOT GOOD ENOUGH. 4/10
  2. Lose weight (combo with more exercise & better eating habits) – LOST ONLY 3 KILO BUT DID REDUCE LATE NIGHT EATING. 4/10
  3. Have a successful year in business – ACHIEVED THIS ONE. COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER BUT I THINK EVERYONE AGREES IT HAS BEEN A PRETTY GOOD FIRST YEAR. 9/10
  4. Become a member of the RICS, at last – DID THE GROUNDWORK AND MAILED OFF THE PAPERS. 5/10
  5. Improve my Polish language skills – DID TAKE SOME LESSONS AND THERE HAS BEEN SOME IMPROVEMENT BUT NOT ENOUGH. 4/10
  6. Organise my photos – FAILED – 0/10
  7. Keep up the blog – HURRAH! 10/10
  8. Write at least one book – YEAH, RIGHT! BIT OF A CHALLENGE THAT ONE. 0/10
  9. Be a better husband, father, uncle, son, friend, co-worker, boss – I THINK I PERFORMED REASONABLY WELL HERE. 5/10

That’s a score for the year of 45%. Not good enough but they weren’t exactly relaxed goals.

newyearresolution

For 2009 I think I’ll try to be more realistic:

  1. Stop smoking
  2. More exercise
  3. Survive (possibly even thrive during?) the recession
3 thoughts on “Those resolution things….

  1. Those all seem do-able. I’m not doing any more social smoking… it’s the slippery slope to nowhere. And I think you can email the NHS and get a stop smoking brochure and CD. That would be fun, non?

    Exercise. Hmmm. If you take the stairs instead of the lift when you go outside for your smokes… you’ll be exhausted, out of breath, sick of smoking even sooner, and eventually, more fit. What a lark! And you didn’t even ask for my advice.

    Survive and thrive? That will be easy for you, Scatts! A walk in the park! Here’s hoping 2009 brings you all good things — health, wealth, and happiness. Best wishes!

  2. Best wishes to you too expateek! The stairs sounds like a great idea….not! There are offers of badminton and squash, I think I’ll stick to those and maybe that bicycle in the bedroom. Always wondered what that was for.

    Oh, you reminded me about the smoking thing – I have completely stopped smoking indoors! That has to count for a few points, eh?!

  3. I approach the whole idea of resolutions a little more loosely.

    I pick a “theme word” for the year and try to follow it. Last year’s was “frugality”… I made a conscious effort to not buy useless things, keep better tabs on my cash flow, and resist compulsive buying. Overall, it was successful and some of my efforts have become habits which I practice unconsciously now. Yah!

Leave a Reply

