Warsaw NatureWatch

Sorry for the string of posts on finance and economics. Boring, I know.

Here’s something cuddly for you – a cute (rabid?) fox!

Yes, I finally got to see the elusive fox this evening. She has taken a liking to the doormat outside one of our doors to the terrace. It is a sheltered spot and under cover from the rain thanks to a balcony of the apartment upstairs so I think she might have taken to sleeping there.

Fox

She’s not as shy as I would expect as the photos will testify and she only really wanders off if you actually open the door. So, just enough respect to bugger off when you need her to but brave enough to be watched and photographed.

She’s got a nasty looking sore on the rear of her back and tail as if she’s scraped all the fur off scrambling under a fence and looks to my inexpert eye to be quite old. I know I shouldn’t but I threw some scraps of meat which she wolfed (or should that be ‘foxed’) down. Well, she looks like she needs a bit of TLC and I give coins to beggars so why not a little meat to a fox?

I’m aware that European foxes carry rabies, so we’ll be careful. I moved the doormat out from under the cover as I don’t want her to think this is home!

9 thoughts on “Warsaw NatureWatch

  1. Oh, lovely! I saw a fox standing and posing under a streetlamp a couple weeks ago and was so mad I hadn’t my camera with me. Do you want some of our bunnies to feed your fox? We have way too many.

  2. Top photo a wonderful ‘character study’ portrait. Second one makes fox look like family pet! Coins to beggars? I hope that none of the Scatts cash goes to organised gangs of Roma panhandlers.

    This post sums up urban man’s ambivalence to wildlife – cute, but steeped in danger (sores, rabies). Quite right to move the doormat – or are you?

    I reckon there’d have been much more photo mileage at least in leaving mat in place. Despite feral foxes homing in on urban man, the risk of catching something dreadful remains low.

  3. I’ve moved the mat back now so we’ll see what happens this evening. I think our hesitant attitude with the fox is more to do with not encouraging Zosia to go out and cuddle it than anything else.

    Worth noting that the day before we awoke to find a dead Jay lying in the same corner of the terrace. There were feathers spread around the terrace but it had been left next to our sitting area as if by a pet cat looking for approval. Chances are the Jay flew into the building and broke it’s neck as that’s happened before but who played with the dead bird and left it for us?

    I’m assuming a hungry fox might have eaten it not left it as a present?

    No Scatts cash going to organised beggars, as far as I know.

  4. This is a real wild life you lead in this new place, indeed. I suppose one day you’d decide to buy a rifle and change into traditional Englishman ;)

  5. Nice photo Scatts. You seem to have moved to a very beautiful area of Warsaw. I’ve been quite surprised at the diversity of life in your garden!

    The fox doesn’t actually look that unhealthy. Now she’s moved in, expect your bird population in the garden to decline! We had several foxes at home in the UK and if you feed them, they get quite attached to you. Maybe there’s a den nearby?

  6. Missed this comment, sorry. Yes, it is a nice area and the diversity is there because it would be more accurate to describe our place as being “in the middle of Młociny park” than it would to say we “have a nice garden”. Aside from a fence (easily negotiated by wildlife) and our few buildings, the landscape of woodland park, riverside wetlands is really unbroken for quite some hectares.

    On the fox’s health. I skipped the shot that shows the sore back/tail as it was not a pretty sight (albeit not life threatening either). The mat has been moved back and I did at the time throw some food out, which she ate, so we’re doing the best we can to be friendly.

    I read somewhere that a fox’s “hood” can stretch to 50 sq km, in which case it might be a while before she’s back.

  7. Maybe the former residents have fed the Fox over the years and thats why he comes in fall/winter to your terrace.

    ps:Do Foxes sleep in winter like bears ?

  8. Pingback: Młociny Park « 20 east

Leave a Reply

