Catchy tunes

There are a couple of “folk” tunes I really like and wanted to place them on here so I can find them when I need a fix! You may enjoy them too, of course.

The first is from Czech, over 30 years ago. The main performers are Ivan Mladek (singer) and Ivo Pesak (dancer) and it is called “Jozin z Bazin” (Jozin of the Swamp/Bog).

Here are the lyrics in English, as best I could find and with some tweaks of my own:

1. I drive my Skoda 100 to the camp in Orava
So I hurry, take a risk – go through Moravia
The monster lives there, comes out of the bog
Eats mostly Prague citizens, its name is Jozin (Joseph)

Chorus: Jozin from the bog creeps through swamp
Jozin from the bog gets close to the village
Jozin from the bog sharpens its teeth
Jozin from the bog bites, strangles
To defend against Jozin from the bog, who could imagine, you need a plane with fertiliser

2. I was driving through the village on road to Vizovice
The village mayor greeted me, said to me while drinking Slivovitz
‘The one who will bring Jozin dead or alive
gets my daughter and a half the National Agrarian Farm

Chorus: Jozin…

3. I said: ‘give me a plane and fertiliser, mayor,
I’ll bring you Jozin, I see no trouble with that’,
The Mayor helped me, in the morning I went up in the sky
The powder from the plane fell perfectly on Jozin.

Chorus:Jozin from bogs is already covered with fertiliser,
Jozin from bogs is escaping from bogs,
Jozin from bogs turned to stone,
Jozin from bogs, here is his end!
I laid my hands on Jozin, I am already holding him,
Any money’s good, I will sell him to the ZOO.

Here’s a brilliant Polish rip-off that’s a lot of fun too. It’s called “Donald’s Dreaming”, political satire aimed at Mr Tusk.

The next is from Finland and is called “levan Polkka“. Here performed a cappella by the group Loituma in 1995. The song is sung in Savo, the Finnish dialect of eastern central Finland.

Here are the lyrics in English.

The sound of a polka drifted from my neighbor’s
and set my feet a-tapping oh!
Ieva’s mother had her eye on her daughter but
Ieva she managed to fool her, you know.
‘Cause who’s going to listen to mother saying no
when we’re all busy dancing to and fro!

Ieva was smiling, the fiddle it was wailing
as people crowded round to wish her luck.
Everyone was hot but it didn’t seem to bother
the handsome young man, the dashing buck.
‘Cause who’s going to mind a drop of sweat
when he’s all busy dancing to and fro!

Ieva’s mother she shut herself away
in her own quiet room to hum a hymn.
Leaving our hero to have a spot of fun
in a neighbor’s house when the lights are dim.
‘Cause what does it matter what the old folks say
when you’re all busy dancing to and fro!

When the music stopped then the real fun began
and that’s when the laddie fooled around.
When he took her home, when the dancing was over
her mother angrily waiting they found.
But I said to her, Ieva, now don’t you weep
and we’ll soon be dancing to and fro!

I said to her mother now stop that noise
or I won’t be responsible for what I do.
If you go quietly and stay in your room
you won’t get hurt while your daughter I woo.
‘Cause this fine laddie is a wild sort of guy
when he’s all busy dancing to and fro!

One thing I tell you is you won’t trap me,
no, you won’t find me an easy catch.
Travel to the east and travel to the west but
Ieva and I are going to make a match.
‘Cause this fine laddie ain’t the bashful sort
when he’s all busy dancing to and fro.

I need to thank Pawel for introducing me to “Jozin z Bazin” and also to Mini-Mini kids TV for introducing me to “levan Polkka” via this funky version from Holly Dolly!

2 thoughts on “Catchy tunes

Leave a Reply

