The Birds

One thing I always notice at this time of year is the “black bird shuffle” that happens every day at about 16:00. I’m not sure exactly what they are, or why they do it, but at the same time every day there is a mass movement of these birds from one place to another. I’m assuming they shift en masse from feeding area to sleeping area and that this is triggered by the light.

It is a wonderful sight. Black chirping clouds moving slowly across the sky and so regular that you can almost set your clock by it. My first apartment here was on one of their mini-migration routes but where we live now is not, so I miss them. Luckily though, I had to collect Zosia from school today and over they came, right on time!

Didn’t have my camera though. I’ll get them next time.

3 thoughts on “The Birds

  1. Saw this phenomenon today at 15:41, just north of Trasa Lazienkowska – the sky was black with birds heading into town. My guess is the birds are starlings, and that they head into town in winter because its warmer and brighter than the likes of Jeziorki, and because there’s a steady supply of kebab and French fries lining the pavements.

  2. I’m sure this is the case. They’re roosting, and the town is the best place to do it because it’s warmest.

    A friend of mine visiting Warsaw coincidentally took a photo at night on a quiet street where there were a whole row of trees in which these birds roosted. When the flash went off about 800 thousand of them simultaneously panicked into the sky. It was one of the scariest and most awe inspiring things I’ve seen. Unfortunately all the photo shows is me with a slack jaw.

  3. Pingback: G9 walkabout « 20 east

Leave a Reply

